Photo Release -- Grupo Salinas is a Proud Sponsor of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers' 50th Annual Spring Conference
Immigration Discussion Panel "Immigration Debate: Back in View" Attracted a Diverse Group of Panelists and Lively Discussion

WASHINGTON, April 8, 2013 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Grupo Salinas is proud to have been a sponsor of the 50th Annual Spring Conference of the Society of American Business Editors and Writers (SABEW). Of particular interest for the group founded by Ricardo Salinas Pliego (www.ricardosalinas.com) was collaboration with the discussion panel entitled "Immigration Debate: Back in View."

A photo accompanying this release is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/newsroom/prs/?pkgid=18007

The panel was moderated by Azteca America Washington correspondent Armando Guzman, and featured Simon Rosenberg, president of the think tank NDN, Steve Camarota, director of the Center for Immigration Studies and Tamar Jacoby, CEO of ImmigrationWorks USA.

With immigration legislation likely to be presented to both chambers of the US Congress in coming weeks, the discussion was especially timely, featuring some of the top experts in the debate and process of proposed immigration legislation.

Tamar Jacoby expressed confidence that the legislative proposals currently being discussed would include significant increases in visas for highly-skilled workers in the fields of technology and science, a goal that many Silicon Valley companies have aggressively lobbied for. However, she was concerned that some of the proposed levels of quotas for visas of low-skilled workers could be a small fraction of current demand and create a constraining environment especially for labor-intensive industries such as construction, restaurant and home health.

"Do we want low-skilled industries to be legal or illegal?" she posed to the audience. "I think we want them to be legal," citing a current estimate of 11 million undocumented workers in the United States.

Steve Camarota argued that the flow of undocumented workers was responsible for repressing wages in low-skilled industries.

Simon Rosenberg emphasized that the demographic situation of Mexico has changed drastically in Mexico over the past fifty years, with average birth rates falling from over seven per family in 1960 to current levels of 2.4 per family, much closer to levels of the United States. He also highlighted the economic growth rate of Mexico as a factor that will deter demand for migration to the United States going forward.

"Mexico is currently a majority middle class country and should be treated with the importance of one of the largest trading partners of the United States," said Rosenberg.

He concluded by saying that the proposed legislation is likely to include: measures for increased immigration enforcement, a better legal immigration system and a path to legal immigration for undocumented workers currently in the United States.

Grupo Salinas, through Azteca America and Fundación Azteca America, will host a series of immigration forums in the cities of Los Angeles, Miami, Houston and Chicago in coming weeks together with Zócalo Public Square.

About Grupo Salinas

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; irtvazteca.com), Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

The photo is also available via AP PhotoExpress.

CONTACT: Daniel McCosh
         +52 (55) 1720-0059
         dmccosh@gruposalinas.com
Stock Market XML and JSON Data API provided by FinancialContent Services, Inc.
Nasdaq quotes delayed at least 15 minutes, all others at least 20 minutes.
Markets are closed on certain holidays. Stock Market Holiday List
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Press Release Service provided by PRConnect.
Stock quotes supplied by Six Financial
Postage Rates Bots go here